kvaefjord1

The World’s Best Cake Part Deux

I have previously written about Norway’s popular Kvæfjordkake, otherwise known as the “World’s Best Cake” among Norwegians. You can read all about the history and get my first recipe here so I won’t repeat myself with the background of this creation.

This cake deserves multiple entries, not only because there are a gazillion different versions and recipes of it out there, but also because I quite possibly had the BEST EVER example two weekends ago when I was home.   Impressive looking and more importantly, incredibly tasty – I was inspired to ask for the recipe from one of my sister’s friends who made it.   Baking and cooking is, after all, trying and testing out many versions of one recipe,  to be able to blend the various elements of each recipe into one and make it the perfect one!

There have been a lot of cake entries lately, both on my blog and on my Facebook page, but that is only because t’is the season once again in Norway; the month of May has lots of celebrations and holidays, which means plenty of cakes on our tables.

This meringue cake with a fluffy cream filling blended with creme anglaise or a vanilla pudding, looks as divine and impressive as it is gratifying to eat, but is surprisingly easy to put together.   Festive and delectable with layers of flavors and textures, it is extremely difficult to be neutral about this cake!

Thanks to Aslaug Kvalsvik from my hometown of Sykkylven, for the inspiration and generous contribution of this recipe.  This woman is a real pro as it takes a lot to impress me!

kvaefjord3

KVÆFJORDKAKE  – VERDENS BESTE   (The World’s Best Cake)

Sponge Cake:

200 grams / 7 oz butter, unsalted and softened but still cool

200 grams / 7 oz granulated sugar (about 1 cup)

8 egg yolks

8 tbsp milk

265g / 9.5 oz all purpose flour (about 1 1/4 cup)

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar (or vanilla extract)

Meringue:

8 egg whites

330g / 12 oz / 1.5 cup sugar

100 g/3.5 oz/0.5 cup almonds,  chopped

Filling:

1 1/4 cup heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla sugar

*1 cup vanilla pudding (make your own – see below recipe, or use packaged)

To make sponge cake:

Preheat oven to 350F (170C).   Line  a 13 x 9 inch baking pan with parchment paper and spray it lightly with Pam or other cooking spray.

In a stand mixer whip the butter and sugar until light yellow and airy. Add in one egg yolk at the time, mixing well in between each addition. Combine the flour with the baking powder and vanilla sugar in a small bowl, and add into the egg mixture interchanged with the milk until it is well intermixed. Pour the mixture into the baking pan.

To make meringue:

Whip the egg whites until soft peaks – add the sugar and whip until stiff.  Spread the meringue on top of the cake mixture in the pan, and sprinkle with the chopped almonds.

Bake in oven on the lowest rack for about 20-25 minutes until the meringue has achieved a golden color. Remove and let cool while making the filling.

To make the filling:

Whip the cream with a bit of vanilla sugar, and fold in the vanilla pudding.

When cake has cooled, divide it in half, spread the filling over one half, and place the other half on top. And voila! you have the world’s best cake ready to become someone else’s best ever cake too!🙂

Doesn’t this look good??

kvaefjord1

 

And here it is half eaten (only takes a few minutes for that to happen!):

 

kvaefjordhalf

 

 

To make your own vanilla pudding:

3 tbsp cornstarch

100 g/ 0.5 cup sugar

1 1/4 cup heavy cream

4 egg yolks

1 vanilla bean, cut in half, with seeds scraped out

50 g /1/4 cup butter

In a pot over medium heat, add in the cornstarch and sugar and mix , add in half the cream and stir. Add in one egg yolk at a time, while constantly whisking. Add in the remainder of the heavy cream and the vanilla seeds. Keep whisking until the mixture thickens, lower heat if necessary.  Whisk in the butter at the end, and let chill.

kvaefjord2

25 thoughts on “The World’s Best Cake Part Deux

  1. Katy says:

    Gosh this looks good! I have an elderly Norweigan friend I’d love to make this for but as he lives about 3 hrs away from me, I’d have to make this in advance. How will this cake stay beautiful and delicious once prepared?

    • Sunny says:

      Hi Katy! You can easily make it in advance – in fact the cake you’re seeing in the picture was made the day before, just place it in the fridge/make sure it stays cool so the filling doesn’t start to run. It even freezes well, believe it or not! Good luck and thanks for stopping by!🙂

      • Katy says:

        Thank you! It’s on the to-do list. I can’t wait to try it. (And now that I read my original comment to you, I apologize for the misspellings and typos. YIKES! )

  2. Karen I Ford says:

    This one looks like it would disappear in an instant! Can’t wait to make this for my family!! It will also be making an appearance at a church potluck this summer. I am always on the lookout for something different to share

    • Sunny says:

      Hi Sherry and thanks for your comment! Great to hear that you will be baking this cake! You can make it the night before – no problem, but with anything it’s always best as fresh as possible… Either way you will enjoy it, I promise!🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog and please stop back again!

  3. Sherry Bayes says:

    Sunny, I made your beautiful cake and it was under baked and raw. I followed all your directions perfectly. I baked it actually 7 min more than the directions say. I used a 13 x 9in pan as called for. Baked at 350* for 32min.
    My meringue was perfect! But the cake center was runny, looking just like egg yolks. I can not figure out what happened unless my pan was actually to small for this recipe, or that it needed to be baked for 40 or 50 min. I was so disappointed as it was to be the “show stopper” I was bringing to our little.Christmas party of about 12 ladies in our knitting group. So here I am at 10:15pm baking an old family standby called “Oslo Kringle”.

    If you have any insight as to what happened I would love to hear from you. I think I will try it again, but not until I get further guidance.

    Thank you for your previous reply, and I look forward to hearing from you again.

    Take care.
    Sincerely
    Sherry

    • Sunny says:

      Hi Sherry! I am so sorry your cake came out raw! It should not be completly dry, but of course not raw..all I can think of is that each and every oven is different and you may have to experiment with baking time and temperature. Did you make sure to place the pan on the bottom rack? This is important as the heat is strongest at the bottom and ensures a cooked crust, and leaves the meringue low too/not too high in the oven so as to prevent burning…. Let me know – I want to help you perfect it!!

  4. Sherry Bayes says:

    Hi Sandy, yes I did put the pan on the bottom rack and I have an oven thermometer in the oven and everything checked out. I think perhaps I will try a larger dish and increase the baking time, but watch it. Do you think using a glass dish would affect it? I also used costco extra large eggs. Maybe that was too much. Your recipe however, was the only one that used 8 eggs. But it also sounded and looked the most beautiful, I have to say!
    Thanks again for your reply.

    • Sunny says:

      Hi Sherry – yes, using extra large eggs would definitely affect the recipe (too much liquid), use just large eggs the next time, and perhaps, like you suggested – work with a slightly larger pan. I prefer using a non stick light pan (not glass) as it seems to cook more evenly. Good/better luck next time – it really is a delicious recipe once it works out!!🙂

      • Sherry Bayes says:

        Sandy, thank you always for replying to me. My cousin has a little baking company with her own homemade pies and cakes in Wisconsin called Sugar Mountain Bakery, and she thought that perhaps the glass dish was the culprit! All in all I have tasted this cake at our Nordic fest and absolutely loved it.
        As as soon as I get over the failure shock, I am going to try it again. I will let you know.

        Sherry

  5. Joan Lønning Abbott says:

    Hi Sunny, I’m thinking what can I take to the Sons of Norway potluck? I made this cake before, & same results as Sherry. Cake was raw, meringue looked great. I did use a glass pan. I ended up baking a boxed yellow cake & slapped the meringue on it. It actually tasted & looked great.

Leave a Reply

