appelsinris

Orange rice pudding – an old school Norwegian dessert

Since Easter is around the corner, and orange sales in Norway at this time of year typically go through the roof (Norwegians love to eat oranges when skiing- go figure) , I found it fitting to write about a dish that includes this fruit. While warm weather fruits like this certainly don’t grow in the northern part of the world, it’s nonetheless a very appreciated food and is utilized in many creations.

appelsiner

One of my favorite desserts growing up was  “appelsinris”-  orange rice in Norwegian.  A rice pudding served cold with bits of fresh orange in it,  it  is refreshing, not overly sweet but very satisfying.  I have posted about the popularity of various porridge dishes in Norway, among others our classic rice porridge (risengrynsgrøt), topped with cinnamon, butter and sugar.  The orange rice dessert was created to use up any leftovers of the rice porridge from the day before, and folding in some whipped cream, vanilla sugar and orange slices magically turned it into a delicious dessert.

vaniljesukkerkremflote

This dish was also standard curriculum in our home making classes in elementary school (skolekjøkken) growing up, and for many  this was the first dessert they ever learned to make. I don’t even know if this type of class exists anymore  in schools today, but I definitely enjoyed it! My older sister even went to a school called “husmorskole” (literally “House wife school!”) after high school, to learn how to bake and do household chores. Can you believe there was such a school? My dad used to say it was wasted money to have sent her there, because after six months she still didn’t know how to boil an egg.  Luckily she has more than redeemed herself, and today, thirty years later, she is one of the best cooks I know.  Here’s an old photo of a ‘husmorskole’:

husmorskole

We have a similar dessert to appelsinris called “riskrem”, made in the same way without the orange slices in it, and it’s accompanied by a raspberry sauce. I will cover that in a separate blog post. For now, here’s a quick and easy recipe for appelsinris– if you are not going to have risengrynsgrøt for dinner (or breakfast!) the day before, not to worry- you can make it from scratch like this:

APPELSINRIS    (Orange Rice Pudding)

2/3 cups (1 1/2 dl)  long grain rice

1 1/4 cup (3 dl) water

1 1/4 cup (3 dl) heavy cream

3 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp vanilla sugar

3-4 oranges, peeled and diced into 1 inch chunks

Rinse the rice under cold water until it runs clear. Place the water and rice in a pot and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat and place a lid on pot.  Let simmer for about 20 minutes. Drain the leftover water and rinse the rice with cold water.

Whip the heavy cream along with the sugar and vanilla sugar.   Fold the whipped cream into the rice along with the orange chunks gently. Garnish with additional orange bits.  Alternatively, you can also add some chopped dark chocolate in the dessert or shave some chocolate on top.  Velbekomme!

appelsinris

Image source: nrk.no

13 thoughts on “Orange rice pudding – an old school Norwegian dessert

  1. Cecile says:

    I can’t believe how often fellow-bloggers post something I’d been thinking I’d like to make! I used to make rice pudding for my sons when they were growing up – but I haven’t make it in years. I can’t wait to try this recipe!!

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    I don’t know why but that just looks fun and decadent. Probably the whipped cream. Thank you for sharing!

    • Sunny says:

      Thanks, Janet! You will love it- the sweetness of the cream, the nice texture of the rice and the fresh citrus flavor of the oranges = delicious!!

    • Sunny says:

      You will love it, Daytona! It’s a really refreshing dessert, and I promise you won’t be able to stick to eating just one bowl…🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. myfood says:

    Rice pudding is one of my favourite comfort foods. My Mum always used to make it for me when I was sick. I can’t wait to try this version.🙂

Leave a Reply

