pannekaker5

Norwegian pancakes: it’s what’s for dinner

In honor of National Pancake Day, I thought I would do a quick post about my favorite pancakes: Norwegian ones! Not unlike the Swedish style, they are very thin and the batter is slightly sweet, much like the French crepe.

pannekaker2

Photo source: hobbykokken.no

As opposed to Americans, however, Norwegians will serve pancakes for dinner, you would never see them for breakfast (naughty!) . I used to serve up Norwegian pancakes at my local farmer market stand, which by the way, I’m happy to report was a huge success! One of my regular customers, referring to her 6-year old son, exclaimed “Oh boy, doesn’t he wish he lived in Norway!” astounded that we actually would eat these for dinner.

Growing up, I always looked forward to ‘pancake day’ – traditionally this was Saturday, since we would have “dinner” very early then (2 pm!) and save our appetite for a special treat at night, when my mom would make exotic, international dishes such as pizza, tacos or Greek moussaka.  Saturday was, as you can imagine – a day we all looked forward to as kids.I would eat the pancakes just plain with some granulated sugar, with some jam or even drizzled with honey.  It was not unusual for me to kill four or five pancakes in one sitting. Guess I’ve always had a big appetite!🙂

Let’s face it; every country in the world has their version of “pancakes”.  The Americans have their thick, fluffy pancakes, the Russians have their luxurious blini, the Chinese have their delicate spring roll, the Mexicans their amazing tortilla, the French probably rule the pancake world with their beautiful crepes, the Indians impress with their dosas and the Italians with their aromatic crespelle.  I love them all! They are eaten for breakfast, lunch, dinner  and dessert, as well enjoyed as a snack anytime. They can be savory or sweet, made with all kinds of flour, have different thickness and texture and ingredients and the proportion of ingredients will vary greatly depending on what country, region, town and household you visit.  Pancakes qualifies as an international food that is recognizable in every corner of the world.  Seldom do we run into someone who doesn’t get excited at the mention of this dish, as someone can always find a way to enjoy this food.

The most unique and traditional (and in my opinion, delicious) way to serve pancakes in Norway is with bacon and blueberry jam.  The salty flavor and crunchy texture of the bacon marries perfectly with the sweet, velvety mouth feel of the pancakes and the jam.  If you don’t eat bacon, try spreading the pancakes with the blueberry jam, and then place a dollop of sour cream on top after the pancake is cooked. Not unlike the Russian blini, except sweet !

pannekaker med bacon

Photo Credit:  tine.no

You may think this combination sounds strange, but I would love for you to try these – and  feedback is appreciated!  Quick and simple, but incredibly satisfying – I have a feeling you will make these again and again! Happy cooking!

NORWEGIAN PANCAKES

6 eggs

6 tbsp sugar

2 cups whole milk

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

50 grams (about 1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Butter for frying the pancakes

1 lb bacon, cooked /sauteed until crispy, and crumbled

blueberry jam (home made or get your best store bought brand)

Whisk eggs, sugar and milk together until a homogenous liquid. Add in flour and salt and combine well.  The melted butter gets added in at the end. Make sure all the lumps are gone and the batter is smooth, let rest for 30 minutes.  Heat a little butter on a large non stick saute pan over medium heat, and pour a generous ladle of batter into pan.  Crumble a handful of bacon over the pancake, spread a tablespoon or two of blueberry jam on top and cook until the top starts to dry out. Start rolling the pancake together or fold in half with a spatula, then in half again (like a triangle).  Flip over and cook all the way through – this should take no more than 2 minutes total.

pannekaker5

Photo Credit: vasaan.no

15 thoughts on “Norwegian pancakes: it’s what’s for dinner

  1. Cecile says:

    I’m looking forward to giving these a try. They look yummy! It’s very similar to my recipe for crepes, although your recipe has twice as many eggs. My husband was French Canadian and he loved crepes – but he only wanted them for breakfast. I used to try to talk him into eating savory crepese for dinner, but he wouldn’t. However, he did like them for desserst with homemade chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream!!!

    • Sunny says:

      Thanks for the comment Cecilie – I really appreciate it! Yes, the pancake batter is quite rich (in eggs, particularly) which is why they are extra delicious, in my opinion… Look forward to hearing back after you’ve tested them out! Cheers! Sunny🙂

  2. Creative Metaphor says:

    I’m American, but I do believe I inherited a genetic preference for these kinds of pancakes. I’ve never liked the thick, fluffy ones, they always made me feel slightly ill. But I will have to try this recipe! Thank you for this entry!🙂

    • Sunny says:

      Thanks very much creativemetaphor – I agree, the thinner version is much easier and lighter to digest, you can definitely have more than one!🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you’ll continue to check in! Sunny🙂

  3. Mamaviv says:

    I learned to make these and vaffler at my mormor’s knee, watching every step she made because she never measured anything and the batter had to be just the right consistency. So many of my friends and family have asked for the recipes and now I can direct them to your blog so they can enjoy them as well. Tusen takk for oppskrift! BTW, salt kjott lapskaus is simmering on the stove as I type.

  4. Amy says:

    My Norwegian Grandmother made them, as well as being passed down, but included was not just regular sugar, but Vanilla Sukker and Cardamom and we often had them with Lingonberry. Oh yum. It is easier to make them on a flatter pan with a very low edge. Makes the turning easier. Nice to see them here. Sooooo many people look at me like I have three heads when I talk about these. Still make them to this day.

    • Sunny says:

      Hi Amy and thanks for your comment and stopping by! I sometimes use vanilje sukker and cardamom in the pancakes too, there are endless varieties of this batter! There is something special about these pancakes, I am happy you love them too!🙂

  5. Snirlen says:

    The most common way to serve thin norwegian pancakes is to serve them with bits of bacon for dinner. U just cover a thin layer in the fryingpan with pancake batter as useal, u turn the pancake by flipping it with the pan, right before its done u ad a few small slices of pre cooked bacon, and then u just fold it in two and serve them🙂

    • Sunny says:

      Yes that is how I grew up eating them too, but we also added freshly made blueberry jam. As you may (or may not) have noticed, I veganized my blog about 3 years ago so no more bacon for me!🙂

Leave a Reply

